

Tuesday, 17 November 2020

Trafford Town Hall Talbot Road Stretford M32 0TH

Dear Councillor,

Your attendance is requested at the **ANNUAL MEETING** of the Council of the Borough of Trafford on **WEDNESDAY**, **25 NOVEMBER 2020**, at **7.00 P.M.** which will be held as a **VIRTUAL MEETING**, for the transaction of the business set out below.

Please Note: Members of the public may view the meeting via the following link: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCjwbIOW5x0NSe38sgFU8bKg

Pages

1. Election of Mayor and Chair of Council

To elect the Mayor to serve until the Annual Council in May 2022, who will be Chair of Council until that time and receive notification of the appointment of the Mayoress.

2. Appointment of Deputy Mayor and Vice-Chair of Council

To elect the Deputy Mayor to serve until the Annual Council in May 2022, who will be Vice-Chair of Council until that time and receive notification of the appointment of the Mayoress.

3. Vote of Thanks

A vote of thanks to the retiring Mayor and Mayoress.

4. Minutes

To approve as a correct record the Minutes of the Meeting of the Council held on 30 September 2020, for signature by the Mayor as Chair of the Council.

5. Leader of the Council and Membership of the Executive

To note the Leader of the Council's continuing term of office and note that the Leader will appoint the membership of the Cabinet and a Deputy Leader.

6. Shadow Executive

To note the membership of the Shadow Executive.

7. Council Committees

To receive a report on the Committees of the Council, their composition, membership and terms of reference for the remainder of the 2020/21 Municipal Year.

8. Appointments to Outside and Independent Bodies

To receive a report on Council appointments to outside and independent bodies for the remainder of the 2020/21 Municipal Year.

9. Timetable of Council and Committee Meetings

To reconfirm the timetable of meetings agreed by Council on 30 September 2020, for the remainder of the 2020/21 Municipal Year with the addition of an Annual Meeting on 26 May 2021 at 6.00 p.m. and to note that as from 1 January 2021 it is proposed that all meetings will commence as set out in the Constitution.

10. Delegated Decisions and Urgent Action for Committees

To approve the following arrangements for dealing with delegated decisions and urgent action:

(a) <u>Delegated Decisions</u>

That where, under the approved scheme of delegation, decisions may be taken by Officers in consultation with non-Executive Members then in the absence of any specific arrangements having been made, the Officer shall consult the appropriate Chair, Vice-Chair and Opposition Spokesperson.

(b) <u>Urgent Action</u>

That, in situations which require emergency action the Chief Executive or the appropriate Officer, in consultation with the Chair and Vice-Chair of the Committee concerned and the Opposition Spokesperson where appropriate (or their respective nominees), be authorised to deal from this date until the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2021, with any matters of urgency or any other matter that cannot conveniently be deferred to the next ordinary meeting of the Committee, subject to later report for information, to the Committee in question.

11. Delegation of Functions and Amendments to the Constitution

To receive the following reports of the Corporate Director of Governance and Community Strategy and Monitoring Officer:

- (a) <u>Delegation of Functions</u>
- (b) Trafford's Constitutional Changes in Response to the Local
 Government Ethical Standards Areas of Best Practice Published by the
 Committee on Standards in Public Life in January 2019

12. Report on Special Urgency Decisions

To note any decisions taken under special urgency provisions.

Yours sincerely,

SARA TODD

Chief Executive

Membership of the Council

Councillors R. Chilton (Mayor), L. Walsh (Deputy Mayor), D. Acton, S. Adshead, A. Akinola, S.B. Anstee, Dr. K. Barclay, J. Bennett, Miss L. Blackburn, C. Boyes, J. E. Brophy, B. Brotherton, D. Bunting, D. Butt, T. Carey, Dr. S. Carr, K.G. Carter, C.H. Churchill, G. Coggins, M. Cordingley, J. Dillon, A. Duffield, N. Evans, M. Freeman, Mrs. D.L. Haddad, J. Harding, B. Hartley, J. Holden, C. Hynes, D. Jarman, D. Jerrome, P. Lally, J. Lamb, J. Lloyd, S. Longden, M. Minnis, A. Mitchell, D. Morgan, P. Myers, A. New, J.D. Newgrosh, E. Patel, K. Procter, S.B. Procter, B. Rigby, T. Ross, B. Shaw, J. Slater, E.W. Stennett, S. Taylor, S. Thomas, R. Thompson, M.J. Welton, A. Western, D. Western, G. Whitham, A.M. Whyte, A.J. Williams, B.G. Winstanley, J.A. Wright and Mrs. P. Young

Further Information

For help, advice and information about this meeting please contact:

Ian Cockill, Governance Officer

Tel: 0161 912 1387

Email: ian.cockill@trafford.gov.uk

This Summons was issued on **Tuesday, 17 November 2020** by the Legal and Democratic Services Section, Trafford Council, Trafford Town Hall, Talbot Road, Stretford M32 0TH